The Time We Lost

*

1997

I heard about my country’s vision by the year 2020 quite often when I was still in school.

Truth is, I couldn’t care less because I thought the concept of “Vision 2020” was too obscure, so it didn’t catch my interest at all as a kid. In fact, what went through my mind was this question: Will I live long enough? Imagining 2020 or in other word, “the future” was like looking at the horizon from the middle of the ocean; so far away than your mind could imagine.

So, yeah. I didn’t know the answer to that question and didn’t give a damn about it. That’s the pleasure of being kid. You just don’t care.

*

Now.

Suddenly here I am, some 20 years later and in just 4 years, it’ll be the year of 2020. Seriously? Where did the time go? Where am I and what am I doing now?

“People say you don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone. Truth is, you knew what you had, you just never thought you’d lose it.”

Many times we fail to realize the true value of a moment or someone or something until they are missing from our lives. Time flies and by Allah’s will, I’ve made it until this very moment. It’s a journey of attainments and regrets. A lesson.

As I said, you don’t care that much when you were young. That’s understandable. But growing up, you started to desire so many things, sometimes ended up focusing on what you want (or what people may think about you) rather than what you need and what makes you happy.

We’re growing up in a world full of challenges that changes us in so many ways but realize it or not, it’s the matter of the heart.

Written by a Muslim poet:

“He is only called insan (man) because of his nasyan (forgetfulness).

And it is only called al-qalb (the heart) because it constantly varies (yataqallib).”

Perhaps, the simplest question of all is the most hardest one to answer: What do we want in life?

I’ve been there, entangled in that question.

In our quest to find the answer, let’s not forget the time we have now to make the most of it before it’s too late. And remember that Allah swt is with us in every step of the way. May He eases our journey. Amin.

“And He find you lost and guided you (you)”
(Ad-Dhuha: 7)

Leave a Reply

