Choices We Make

This is just something thas has been inside my head for quite a while.

For all these times, I tried to understand the reasons why people do the things they do. Why do people need to hurt each other; be it with their sharp tongues or with their actions? How can people be so mean, insensitive and so cruel? And is it so hard to hold on to honesty and sincerity?

I tried to tolerate with the mess, the chaos, the agonies and all those appalling consequences from ruthless actions and choices that people make, which often leaves me with no option but to fight with my inner self in the quest to move on, to forgive, to forget, to let go, to accept and to learn to see things from the bright side. It takes a lot of courage and efforts to be able to do that with all honesty. Hell yes. It takes times too, sometimes even years to go through the process.

But guess what, I learn that as much as we try to understand people and the things they do, sometimes we just can’t. In fact, I think it’ll be even sadder to learn that sometimes people are mean and do bad things just because of grudges they keep, hatred and selfishness.

I think our life objective is pretty much the same. Ultimately, we want to be happy, we dream of happiness, we want to succeed, we want to love and be loved, we want to live comfortably but the question is how are we going to attain these. There’ll be several different paths, and that’s when people have to make a choice – A choice that defines who they are, a choice that leads to where they are and a choice that drives them to do the things they do.

Though I may not understand it all, I try to find comfort by reminding myself that no one can escape from making mistakes in life, and that helps me a lot in forgiving others as I know I have done a lot of mistakes too and throughout my life, I might’ve hurt someone else’s feelings without intention.

Having said that, I can only pray that we find peace within our hearts and that we may live in honesty, that our hearts be filled with kindness  and love towards each other and may we continue to do good. In sha Allah.

Lots of love
Kay

Leave a Reply

