Lessons From That Poor Old Man

While I was driving this afternoon, I was caught by the attention of a very poor old man, eating his packed lunch under a tree, at the side of the road. It was a truly heart-breaking scenery. Across the road, there is a wet market and some food stalls. Obviously by looking at his awful condition, no one would think that he has the money to buy his food. So, I assumed the food he’s eating was given to him, out of charity by someone who is kind enough to give. It made me feel terrible and sad at the same time.  How lucky I am to live such a comfortable life.

Few questions however, filled my mind: What happened to his life? How he can end up like that? Was he abandoned by his children? Does he even have children? What motivates him to carry on living in such hardships? Hope? Will? Or he just simply lives because he knows at this stage, there’s nothing he could’ve done to change and  nothing more he could care about. I don’t hold the answers to these questions but I think it’s logical to assume that there must be a major setback in his life that has led him to this point. He must’ve fought for his life but somehow lost the battle before he gave up and ended up where he is now.  Well, I don’t know. That is just my assumptions. Whatever it is, seeing that old man today reminds me of two things – Number one: Of being grateful. Number two: To give away charity to the less fortunate whenever we can.

May God bless that old man.

“What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal.”

— Albert Pike (1809 – 1891)

Leave a Reply

